U12 SFAI SUBWAY Championship
On a fab afternoon our U12 LETP squad took to the competitive field against Limerick Desmond in the first Under12 SFAI SUBWAY championship game. The full squad was available with no injuries and gave the coaching staff a real headache on selecting the starting nine. For the nine selected to start they found out that interleague football is played at a very high tempo with some slick passing and moving with no time to catch your breath. Jake McNamara had a few good chances but for the heroics of the Desmond keeper county would have had a goal. The first half was a very nervous one with the ball spending too much time in the air and not enough time on the floor. Limerick Desmond took the lead and I think this was the wakeup call for the county boys.

In the second half there was some really nice football played by both teams. Our keeper Kevin Stanley pulled off a magnificent double save just after kick off which kept us in the game. County decided enough was enough and with a great move built from the back a ball from substitute Conor Horan finally to Michael Ryan who stuck the ball in the back of the net 1-1. Now County were up for the fight and were looking for the next goal that could prove to be the winning one. Again some great play from Sean Carroll, Bailey Ryan and Callum Murphy in defence, we were able to build some good possession and attacking situations. Finally we got the second goal by the way of substitute Ben Compton who slotted home after a great ball from midfield. A great second half performance and 3 points on the board. Next up away to Kerry on Jan 15th

Our second game was very exciting with the eventual score line of 4-3 to Desmond. Our boys showed great fight to come back from 2 goals down to lead 3-2 but two late goals killed us. It was a fantastic performance from both squads and we have a few bits to work on and thats what developing is all about.

Our squad on the days was Niall Ryan, Kevin Stanley, Sean Carroll, Tadgh Hourigan, Josh Hartnett, Liam Burke, Cathal Kernes, Callum Murphy, Bailey Ryan, Conor Horan, Hugh Murnane, Michael Ryan, Jake MNamara, Arron Moffatt, Ben Compton, David Moloney, DJ Collins, Zack Murphy Ryan, James O Sullivan, Clement McCaulife, Shane Ryan,

Well done to all the boys, very proud coaches.

12/12/2016 07:35